NV students receive state Science Day award

L to R: Sylvania School Superintendent Dr. Veronica Motley congratulates students Raymond Flowers IV, Maya Sarikonda, Dipakshi Pal, Megan Basrur, Ivy Sheriff, and Rayna Kanjo.

Northview students Raymond Flowers IV, Maya Sarikonda, Dipakshi Pal, Megan Basrur, Ivy Sheriff, and Rayna Kanjo, members of Kathryn Nelson’s  2021-2022 AP science research class received a Shaw Award Trophy from State Science Day 2022. The Ohio Academy of Science Director of Programs Angela McMurry presented the award on Sept. 8 at Northview.  

The Shaw Award is the highest award given to schools for State Science Day. Students received this recognition based on their work completed through their 21-22 AP Research class. Only eight schools earned this distinction statewide in 2022.

State Science Day, a program of The Ohio Academy of Science, has been the pinnacle of academic achievement for students pursuing inquiry-based scientific research and engineering design for 74 years. This spring, 603 STEM scholars in grades 5-12 competed for nearly $400,000 in sponsored scholarships and awards. A total of 177 schools participated.

State Science Day 2022 was sponsored by the American Electric Power Foundation, Battelle, Broadcom Foundation, CAS, Charles River, Kent State University, Kokosing, Inc., the Ohio EPA, and the Ohio Tuition Trust Authority’s CollegeAdvantage 529 Plan. “State Science Day is an experiential program that teaches students how to apply what they’re being taught by using the scientific method or by constructing a prototype from a conceptual design,” noted Executive Director Michael E. Woytek, of The Ohio Academy of Science. “The long-term goal is to develop a future workforce that is capable of applying STEM knowledge to solve problems in manufacturing, engineering, health sciences, and technology-based industries.”


Eight schools received the Harold C. Shaw Memorial Outstanding School Award, the highest possible school and team achievement at State Science Day. The other schools joining Sylvania Northview High School in receiving the Harold C. Shaw Memorial Outstanding School Awards are Eastland Career Center, Groveport Hilltop, West Unity Mentor, Mentor Athens, William Mason, Mason Archbishop Alter, and Dayton Carroll high schools.

“I am thrilled that Northview has received this prestigious award. This competition is incredibly challenging, and I’m so proud of these hardworking students for their accomplishment,” praised Superintendent of Sylvania Schools Dr. Veronica Motley.

Leave a Reply